Beautiful Evening

On the Winter Solstice, as I rode home from work, I rode down the Prom in Salthill as I am wont to do. and what to my wondering eyes should appear but the most lovely dusk sky.  It ran through all the shades of purple from that pale purple tinged white associated with elderly grandmothers to the darkest violet.  Above the sea were billowy purple tinted gray clouds.  The land across the bay, possibly the cliffs in county Clare, were of a dark maroon. The scene made me wish for my camera but by the time I arrived at home the sky had gone dark.

The stillness of the wind, the warmth of the air, the lack of rain and the beautiful sunset made for a most enjoyable ride and the perfect ending for the day and for Autumn.

— Claude

Leave a Reply

